Connecting the Pack at La Joya Community High School

Eye of the Lobo

Connecting the Pack at La Joya Community High School

Eye of the Lobo

Connecting the Pack at La Joya Community High School

Eye of the Lobo

The Howl

Marvel or DC?

  • Marvel (70%, 7 Votes)
  • DC (30%, 3 Votes)

Total Voters: 10

Loading ... Loading ...
Staff Profile

Hamilton is Non-Stop

(The Mary Sue)

Broadway’s new hit musical “Hamilton” has been taking the world by storm. With their music completely different than what you would normally hear on Broadway, their music has captured the attention of a younger audience.

Never heard of Hamilton? Well, here is a quick summary. The musical stars one of America’s founding fathers, Alexander Hamilton, who was someone who seemed to embody hip hop according to Lin-Manuel Miranda, who is the mastermind behind the show. The story is solely based off of what Alexander Hamilton has done in his life.

On Friday December 2nd, ‘The Hamilton Mixtape’ was released for the world to hear. The album was announced in early November and some of the tracks were released throughout the month as an “album teaser”.

The musical style is completely different than what we normally hear on Broadway. Lin-Manuel Miranda incorporated hip-hop into the style of the show, from rap battles to ballads that are sure to make you cry. Due to the insane response to the Hamilton soundtrack, Lin Manuel Miranda came out with “The Hamilton Mixtape”.

The Hamilton Mixtape consists of 23 songs sung by various artists who put their own spin to songs off of the original broadway cast album. The track list for the album is:

  1. No John Trumbull (Intro) – The Roots
  2. My Shot (feat. Busta Rhymes, Joel Ortiz & Nate Ruess) [Rise Up Remix] – The Roots
  3. Wrote My Way Out – Nas, Dave East, Lin-Manuel Miranda & Aloe Blacc
  4. Wait For It – Usher
  5. An Open Letter (feat. Shockwave) [Interlude] – Watsky
  6. Satisfied (feat. Miguel & Queen Latifah) – Sia
  7. Dear Theodosia (feat. Ben Folds) – Regina Spektor
  8. Valley Forge (Demo) – Lin-Manuel Miranda
  9. It’s Quiet Uptown – Kelly Clarkson
  10. That Would Be Enough – Alicia Keys
  11. Immigrants (We Get the Job Done) – K’naan, Snow Tha Product, Riz MC & Residente
  12. You’ll Be Back – Jimmy Fallon & The Roots
  13. Helpless (feat. Ja Rule) – Ashanti
  14. Take a Break (Interlude) – !llmind
  15. Say Yes to This – Jill Scott
  16. Congratulations – Dessa
  17. Burn – Andra Day
  18. Stay Alive (Interlude) – J. Period & Stro Elliot
  19. Cabinet Battle 3 (Demo) – Lin-Manuel Miranda
  20. Washingtons By Your Side – Wiz Khalifa
  21. History Has Its Eyes On You – John Legend
  22. Who Tells Your Story (feat. Common & Ingrid Michaelson) – The Roots
  23. Dear Theodosia (Reprise) – Chance the Rapper & Francis and the Lights

Lin-Manuel Miranda had stated that this was just the first volume and that a second volume of the album was to be released sometime in the future. As many await this second volume, many will be very busy listening to the first and the original album.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Eye of the Lobo Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *